Gallery: AIM Awards 2016

On Tuesday night we were privileged enough to head down to our first AIM Awards (Association of Independent Music) and rub shoulders with some of the most creative, innovative and genuinely inspirational people working in the Independent music scene today.

Sharing a room with both Stormzy (who won the Innovator award) and Noddy Holder (who picked up the Special Catalogue of The Year award on behalf of Slade), was a pretty unique experience.

Other accolades on the night went to Roisin Murphy for Outstanding Contribution To Music, Head of XL Richard Russell for the Pioneer award and Christine and The Queens who won Independent Breakthrough of The Year. It was great to see two of our INDIE50 up for awards too, with both Chris Bye from The Arts Council and Jess Partridge from London in Stereo nominated for the Indie Champion award. Here are a few snaps from the night.




Christine and The Queens and Geoff Travis from Rough Trade presented the Hardest Working Band or Artist award, which went to Darren Hayman (who also wins our award for Best Acceptance Speech: “Would you prefer one good song or 200 sh*t ones? I think we all know the answer now”).



Richard Russell, head of XL, picked up the Pioneer award for his work with (among many others) Adele, Damon Albarn, Jungle, M.I.A and The xx.


For a full list of the winners head over to





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Up ↑